Established in 1999



Public Others Government Business Arts Community
Entertainment Lifestyle Services People Travel Internet Stuff



     FrontPage Edition: Mon 14 August 2006

Five Awarded Prestigious SAF Overseas Scholarship


Five Awarded Prestigious SAF Overseas Scholarship

Five officer cadets have been awarded the prestigious Singapore Armed Forces Overseas Scholarship (SAFOS) this year.
These scholars have excelled in both their academic and co-curricular activities and have also turned in sterling performances during their officer cadet course.
Minister for Defence, Mr Teo Chee Hean, presented the five SAFOS recipients with their Certificates of Award as well as their Ceremonial Swords at Temasek Club this afternoon and they now join the ranks of 250 others before them.
Three of the five scholars are from the Army, one from the Republic of Singapore Navy and one from the Republic of Singapore Air Force. Two of these scholars have also been conferred the 2006 President's Scholarship.
All five scholars are bound for tertiary education in the United States or United Kingdom.
Known as the most prestigious scholarship after the President's Scholarship, the SAFOS has one of the most stringent selection criteria, ensuring that the SAF attracts the best and the brightest of each cohort of school-leavers to join the MINDEF/SAF.
Within the SAF, SAFOS recipients will take on a variety of challenging appointments to groom them for the highest level of command and leadership positions.
Training and development provided coupled with the discipline and leadership qualities that are inculcated in them ensure that they are able to assume key positions in the Administrative Service or private sector.
The illustrious list of past SAF overseas scholars includes:
  • Prime Minister, Mr Lee Hsien Loong
  • Minister for Defence, Mr Teo Chee Hean
  • Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr George Yeo
  • Minister for Trade and Industry, Mr Lim Hng Kiang
  • Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and Second Minister for National Development, Mr Lim Swee Say
  • Minister of State (Ministry of Education), Rear-Admiral (NS) Lui Tuck Yew
  • Chief of Defence Force, Lieutenant-General Ng Yat Chung
  • Chief of Army, Major-General Desmond Kuek
  • Chief of Navy, Rear-Admiral Ronnie Tay
  • Chief of Air Force, Brigadier-General Ng Chee Khern
  • Head of Civil Service and Permanent Secretary (Foreign Affairs), Mr Peter Ho
  • Permanent Secretary (Defence Development), Dr Tan Kim Siew
  • Permanent Secretary (Education), Lieutenant-General (NS) Lim Chuan Poh
  • Permanent Secretary (Transport), Brigadier-General (NS) Choi Shing Kwok
  • Permanent Secretary (Environment and Water Resources), Mr Tan Yong Soon
  • Brigadier-General (NS) Lam Joon Khoi, CEO of Singapore Land Authority.
Witnessing the presentation ceremony this morning were senior officials from MINDEF and the SAF, as well as parents and Junior College principals of the five recipients.
More..... (Recipients)

Source: News Release 12 Aug 2006

Important Notice

Our FrontPage Editions are a historical record of our Web site and reflect the changing of the times, and also of our Web site through time. We do not and will not update the links and stories on these FrontPages even if they have become obsolete.


If you have an event or some news to share with our readers, send the details, including picture(s), to us at 

We are now 11376 pages thick and growing.

Public Holidays NATIONAL DAY is the next public holiday. It falls on 9 August 2006.