Established in 1999



Public Others Government Business Arts Community
Entertainment Lifestyle Services People Travel Internet Stuff

Weather: Meteorological Service Singapore    High & Low Tides

Yesterday   2005     2004     2003     2002     2001     2000     1999

MOE to build six new primary schools by 2008


Enhancing Our School Infrastructure - Building of Six New Primary Schools and Prime Phase 7

As part of the Ministry of Education’s (MOE) continuing efforts to renew and support our schools, we will be building new schools as well as upgrading existing ones.
Six new primary schools will be built by 2008 and twelve schools (6 primary and 6 secondary) will be upgraded under Phase 7 of the Programme for Rebuilding and IMproving Existing Schools (PRIME).
These announcements were made by Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister for Education, at Rosyth School’s 50th Anniversary held on 16th April 2005.
New Primary Schools
As part of MOE’s continuing efforts to give more resources to schools and provide teachers with more flexibility in trying different teaching approaches for better teaching outcomes, a few initiatives have been implemented.
This year, the Primary 1 class size has been reduced from 40 to 30. Next year, this reduced class size will be further implemented for Primary 2.
As earlier announced by Mr Chan Soo Sen, Minister of State, at the 2005 Committee of Supply debate, MOE will also provide greater infrastructural flexibility to schools by adjusting schools’ planned enrolment to free up physical capacity.
Partial single sessions, where Primary 3 to Primary 6 classes function in the morning, open up possibilities for better teaching and learning by making more space and time available for teachers and students.
Schools will have more facilities available in the afternoon session for co-curricular activities and enrichment activities. In 2005, about 74% of our primary schools are already operating at partial single session.
With these initiatives, schools will have a smaller enrolment. MOE will thus build six new primary schools by 2008 to support these initiatives whilst ensuring that all our children are assured of places in school. Building of the six new schools will be done at an estimated cost of $110 million.
The new primary schools will be located in the new towns of Bukit Panjang, Punggol, Sembawang, Sengkang (two schools) and Woodlands. The list of new primary schools can be found in Annex A.
Currently, most of the primary schools in these towns are operating with double sessions. The new schools will facilitate the implementation of partial single session for the existing schools in these towns.
PRIME Phase 7
Twelve schools will be upgraded under PRIME Phase 7 from 2006-2008. They will have more classrooms and be fitted with new or upgraded facilities including computer laboratories, media resource libraries, IT learning resource rooms and pastoral care rooms. The list of schools under PRIME Phase 7 can be found in Annex B.
PRIME was launched in May 1999 to upgrade all schools to the latest standards so as to provide a conducive learning environment for our students. Estimated to cost $4.5 billion, this programme is implemented in phases. To date, 210 schools have been included in the earlier six phases of PRIME. Of these, 173 schools have completed their redevelopment.
More information on PRIME can be obtained from the PRIME website at http://www/moe/gov/sg/prime/ or the MOE Customer Service Hotline at tel. 6872 2220 (during office hours).

Source: Ministry of Education Press Release 16 Apr 2005



If you have an event or some news to share with our readers, send the details, including picture(s), to us at 


Click New Web sites for the list.

We are now 7904 pages thick and growing.

Public Holidays LABOUR DAY is the next public holiday. It falls on 1 May 2005.


ePartners  | Press  |  eMail Us | Permissions | Content Contributors

Contact Getforme at

Powered by

Copyright© 1999 - 2005  All rights reserved


17 April 2005