Established in 1999



Public Others Government Business Arts Community
Entertainment Lifestyle Services People Travel Internet Stuff



     FrontPage Edition: Mon 24 March 2008

Organising committee for First Youth Olympic Games


Singapore sets up Organising Committee for First Youth Olympic Games
Singapore has set up the Organising Committee for the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in 2010.
Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan has appointed Mr Ng Ser Miang, International Olympic Committee Executive Board Member in Singapore, as Chairman of the Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee (SYOGOC) Board.
The 22-member SYOGOC Board comprises individuals from the public, private and people sectors. The list of SYOGOC Board members is in Annex A.
Dr Balakrishnan said, “Singapore YOG Organising Committee has been entrusted with the heavy responsibility of staging the first-ever Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in just under two-and-a-half years. This is a big challenge but I am confident that, with the expertise and resources that the Board has, coupled with the leadership of Mr Ng Ser Miang, Singapore will give the young athletes participating in the first YOG in 2010 a truly memorable and exciting Games.”
The SYOGOC will be aided by a Panel of Advisors comprising:

a. Mr Teo Chee Hean, Minister for Defence and President of the Singapore National Olympic Council;

b. Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister for Finance and Minister for Education;

c. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports and Second Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts; and

d. Mr Teo Ser Luck, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS).

An Inter-Ministry Committee has also been established to support the work of SYOGOC. Chaired by the Permanent Secretary of MCYS, Mr Niam Chiang Meng, the Committee comprises senior civil servants from different Government agencies, including the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Defence and the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts.
Further support from other stakeholders will also come through five Committees in the areas of Sports, Culture & Education, Community Outreach, Youth Engagement and Business & Marketing. Please refer to Annex B for the SYOGOC organisation chart.
The members of the 5 committees will be announced in due course.

Source: Media Release 24 Mar 2008

Important Notice

Our FrontPage Editions are a historical record of our Web site and reflect the changing of the times, and also of our Web site through time. We do not and will not update the links and stories on these FrontPages even if they have become obsolete.


If you have an event or some news to share with our readers, send the details, including picture(s), to us at 

We are now 15324 pages thick and growing.

Public Holidays GOOD FRIDAY is the next public holiday. It falls on 21 March 2008.