Established in 1999



Public Others Government Business Arts Community
Entertainment Lifestyle Services People Travel Internet Stuff

Weather: Meteorological Service Singapore    High & Low Tides

Yesterday   2005     2004     2003     2002     2001     2000     1999

Singapore Olympians - The Complete Who's Who 1936 - 2004


Singapore's Golden Moments: Launch Of "Singapore Olympians - The Complete Who's Who 1936 - 2004"

Mr Teo Chee Hean, Minister for Defence and President of the Singapore National Olympic Council launched the book "Singapore Olympians - The Complete Who's Who 1936 - 2004" on 1 Apr 2005 at the Sports Museum of the Singapore Sports Council.
At the launch ceremony, Mr Teo Chee Hean presented autographed copies of the book to four Olympians representing the different generations of Singapore's Olympic history.
They are: Mr Chia Boon Leong and Mr Chu Chee Seng who played football in the 1948 Olympics and continued to play a pivotal role in the Singapore Malaya Cup winning teams in the early 1950s; Mr Tan Howe Liang who earned Singapore's first silver medal in the 1960 Olympics in the lightweight category; and Ms Jing Jun Hong who took fourth place in the table tennis singles event in the 2000 Olympics.
Encapsulating Singapore's sporting history, "Singapore Olympians - The Complete Who's Who 1936 - 2004" celebrates the tremendous courage, determination, discipline and sheer grit of the nation's 147 Olympians as they overcame challenges to compete at the pinnacle of the world's competitive sports. They are the epitome of Singapore's indomitable spirit. Through their personal stories, the book inspires Singapore's youths by fuelling their passion for sports and their pursuit for excellence.
In his foreword, Minister Teo described the book as telling "the story of Olympic sports in Singapore and its impassioned athletes. These men and women dreamt of Olympic glory, not just for themselves but also for their country. It is the human spirit that defines a true champion, and as this book makes clear, Singapore has had many champions."
Mr Oon Jin Teik, Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Sports Council said, "The Sports Council is hounoured to be a part of this special project to commemorate Singapore's own sports icons who have contributed immensely to their sport and to the nation. The book also serves as a valuable reference for Singaporeans to recognise and embrace the achievements of their fellow Singaporeans."
A glowing example is weightlifter Mr Tan Howe Liang who overcame adversities to become Singapore's first ever silver medallist in the Olympic Games. His achievement marked a historic win for Singapore.
"Singapore Olympians - The Complete Who's Who 1936 - 2004" is written by Dr Nick Aplin, Ms Wee-Leong May Lai and Dr David James Walters.
Dr Aplin is an Associate Professor of Physical Education and Sports at the National Institute of Education in Nanyang Technological University and Head of Olympic Studies at the Singapore Olympic Academy. Ms Leong works in the Research Department of the Sports Council's Communications and Knowledge Group as a Manager, Research/ Sports Museum. Dr Walters has much experience in sports education, having worked as a coach, consultant, lecturer and assistant professor in universities in Minnesota, Singapore and Taiwan.
The book is published by SNP International and will be available at major bookstores from Saturday, 2 April 2005 at $36.75.
For media enquiries, please contact Ms Jenny Kwok, Executive (Integrated Marcoms) at 63409881 and Ms Suhana Kharudin, Manager (Integrated Marcoms) at 63409616.
Jointly issued by the Singapore National Olympic Council and the Singapore Sports Council, 1 April 2005.

Source: Singapore Sports Council Media Release 1 Apr 2005



If you have an event or some news to share with our readers, send the details, including picture(s), to us at 


Click New Web sites for the list.

We are now 7854 pages thick and growing.

Public Holidays LABOUR DAY is the next public holiday. It falls on 1 May 2005.


ePartners  | Press  |  eMail Us | Permissions | Content Contributors

Contact Getforme at

Powered by

Copyright 1999 - 2005  All rights reserved


5 April 2005