Click here for your favorite eBay items

advertisement space for hire 120 x 60

Established in 1999

 

Home - Entertainment - Music - Arts - Books - Short stories - News - Shopping - Games - Education - CollectiblesGet Singapore things - Media - TV/Radio - What's New - Health - Get something done in Singapore - Travel - Internet Stuff - Computers & Technology - Recruitment - Office - Companies - Stock - Unit Trusts - Banking & Finance - Associations & Clubs - Business - Online Directories - Local Talents - TelecommunicationAuctionsVirtual Cemetery - Virtual Singapore Postcards - BackPackers' Corner - Singaporean Cooking - Food - Free English Lessons - Free Domain Search - Message Board - Hobbies & Crafts - Useful Services - Dating - Young People - Teenyboppers - Ah Boy & Ah Girl - Community - Mail Box Service - NetPals MORE

Founding - World War II - Our Gazetted Monuments - Sightseeing - Attractions - Explore Singapore - Museums - Visitors' SnapshotsVanishing Scenes - Eye On Singapore - Thanks For The Memories! - Internet cafes - Singapore Currency Notes

Horoscope: ASTROLOGY ZONE® by Susan Miller        Singapore Time

 

  Emergency

  Postal

  Utilities

  Flights

  Police

  Singapore Law

  Immigration

  Airport

  Customs

  Accommodation

  Business Directory

  Permits & Passes

  Pets

  Schools 

  Vehicles

  Bank ATMs

  Banks

  24-hour Outlets

  Hospitals

  Getting Around 

  Embassies

  4D/Toto/Score

What's New

Local Talents: Sculptor HAN Sai Por

Local Talents: Celest CHONG

Community Issues: Not illegal for security guards to hold NRIC

Community Issues: Police to question man who blocked parked cars

Local Talents: NG Woon Lam - water colour artist

Singapore Shopping

Computers & Technology

Computers - Top Ten Viruses!

Computers - Free Online Virus Scanner

Young People - Pictures

Ah Boy & Ah Girl Alumni

Town Council Members: Tampines

Ah Boy & Ah Girl Handphone Bank

Arts: Renaissance City Report

Town Council Members: Aljunied

Town Council Members: Holland-Bukit Panjang

Accommodation - Rental Houses Wanted

Getting Around - Singapore River

Our Heritage

Buy & Sell Used Things

The Civil Defence Heritage Gallery

Tourism Board

Tourist Arrival Statistics

Visitors' Snapshots

Population

BackPackers' Corner

Luggage Repair

Rent A Car

Internet cafes

To get free copies of brochures on Singapore, including Singapore Official Guide, please click HERE.
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW

Low Lying Areas In Singapore  Lists the flood-prone areas in Singapore.

Things you should know  Tells you things you need to be aware of - disasters, drowning cases, Hotel New World...
Good Eats

10 MUST VISIT places

FleaMarts
2nd-hand Watches
Shopping Complaints
Nature

 

The WEATHER on SATURDAY (6 Apr 2002): Showers with thunder in the afternoon mainly over northern, western and central Singapore.   WEATHER OUTLOOK:  SUNDAY & MONDAY: Afternoon showers with thunder are expected.   WATER TIDES (this month)  High tide 4.24am  2.2m   8.50pm  2.0m    SUN Sunrise  7.04am    Sunset 7.11pm   MOON  Moonrise  2.18am   Moonset   2.37pm   PSI: 39 (good)   TEMPERATURE: 25-34 degrees Celsius (The weather is updated daily before 8am Singapore time) For more information, call Meteorological Service Singapore Tel: (65) 542 7788.

Yesterday   Jan - Apr 2002     2001     2000     1999

Currency Converter      Singapore Currency Notes      My E-mail Account

Meet GAO Anhua - the author of "To The Edge Of The Sky"

 

Click logo to start tour

Mdm Kang's Kitchen Chilli Crab

  A Meet-the-Author session with GAO Anhua will be held at Marine Parade Community Library on 22 Apr 2002 from 7pm to 8pm.

  GAO is the author of To The Edge Of The Sky, an autobiography about life in communist China - a harrowing tale of human courage in the face of shocking inhumanity and hardship - in the tradition of Falling Leaves and Wild Swans.

  When GAO's parents unexpectedly died, leaving her and her sibling brothers, they were hailed by MAO as revolutionary heros. But her parents' reputation proved a fragile shield from the horrors of 20-century communist China. 

  GAO's safe and privileged world was to be torn apart by the whims of the state. She was not only persecuted by the state for writing and speaking English, but also victimised by spousal cruelty and public humiliation.

  This is the story of the struggle of an individual against the ideological machine of Red China. It is a story of tremendous suffering and appalling deprivation. But, most of all, it is the story of a woman who, against unbelievable odds, survived to find a happiness she had not dared hope for.

  "I wanted to tell the whole world the truth about China. People living outside didn't really understand what happened - because my parents died a long time ago I could not do my duty and look after them. I was too young. So I have written a book for them." GAO Anhua

  GAO Anhua was born in 1949 in Shandong Province and brought up in Nanjing, the capital city of Jiangsu Province. She moved to England to be with her English husband in December 1994. This is her first book.

  There will be a book-signing session by Ms GAO after the programme. Admission is free and all are welcome.

  VENUE: Marine Parade Community Library, Marine Parade Community Complex, 278 Marine Parade Road. Singapore 449282.  Tel: (65) 6332 3255.

You can e-mail to us your comments on the above FRONTPAGE STORY. Quote this number 060402 on the subject heading and address your e-mail to editor@getforme.com. Your comments will appear HERE!

 

All business and residential telephone numbers in Singapore now have a new prefix "6". Our new telephone numbers are 62824221 and 62814785 (fax).

NEW WEBSITES

SculptureSq.com.sg  is the website of Sculpture Square – a non-profit, independent arts organisation. It is Singapore’s only art space dedicated to sculpture and other contemporary 3-dimensional arts. Their mission is to be a viable hub where contemporary art can be viewed, critically evaluated, promoted and presented to the public.

US-partnersingapore.com  is the website of the US-Singapore Business Partnership Programme. Launched in March 2002, it aims to let US and Singapore firms forge new links through the Internet. 

Click New Websites for the rest of the list.

Eye on Singapore

Enjoy the present, treasure the past, and embrace the future!

Please sign our guestbook... Thank you.

BANKmates: Get a Personal Assistant to do your errands in Singapore.

We are now 3811 pages thick and growing.

Public Holidays MAY DAY is the next public holiday. It falls on 1 May 2002.

Tell us about your events

If you have an event or some news to share with our readers, e-mail us at editor@getforme.com

Contribute an article

If you have a flair for writing and have written something you wish to share with our readers, send us your article. E-mail us at editor@getforme.com. It can be on any topic, such as health, school life, etc.

Free Webpages Here!

We provide permanent FREE webpages here for government agencies and public-service groups which want a presence here. E-mail us at editor@getforme.com

This website is updated throughout the day every day and the FrontPage is updated between 10.00 pm and 12.00am Singapore time (+8 hours GMT).  

    
ABOUT THIS WEBSITE | ADVERTISING WITH US | LISTING WITH US

ePartners  |  Press  |  eMail Us

      Contact us at help@getforme.com 

Copyright ©1999 - 2002  All rights reserved

 

 

Saturday
6 April 2002

Sign up for your FREE e-mail account HERE!
Email Login

@getforme.com
Password
New users
sign up!

Find companies, brands, products & services in Singapore

Music Downloads: sample, and buy online

Treasure the past, enjoy the present, and embrace the future.

Saturday's News

Local

Global Cities

Newspapers

The Straits Times' history
Newspapers In Singapore

Media